Monday

From the perspective of the strangers that I passed on Monday, you would think that Monday was a great day for me. 

And it was. I hung out with a friend in town all afternoon, and we had a great time. We watched the new film Ballerina, which we both loved. We went window shopping and actual shopping. There was a lot of smiling and laughing. People walking past probably thought, if they cared enough, that Monday was a great day for us. 

And it was. 

But for me, it also wasn’t. 

That Monday is going to go down in the history books as a strange day. Years from now, I don’t know if I’ll remember the good times I had, or the two lots of bad news that I received. 

You see, the doctor called on Monday. He told me that my blood tests indicate that I probably (more tests will confirm) have yet another serious medical condition, on top of my heart problem and eye problems and all my other problems. It’s not serious in a way that will kill me, but serious in a way that my life may be greatly affected. 

That was the first lot of bad news. I barely had time to process it before I had to meet my friend in town. 

The second lot of bad news came when I was waiting to be picked up from town after all the fun that we had. I was sitting and thinking about this new condition that I likely have, when I decided to turn my data on. I then found out that a primary school friend of mine, who was in a car accident three weeks ago, in which her mother died at the scene, had died. She was 18. I knew that it was coming, because her chances of recovery had been slim, but I just about burst into tears in the middle of town. 

How is this fair? How is any of it fair? 

How is it fair that some people are healthy and never have anything wrong, while there are people like me who have countless medical issues that change everything? 

But how is it fair that I get to live, while my friend and her mum don’t? How is it fair that lives are just taken like that? 

But that’s the point. 

Life’s not fair. No one ever said that it is. It’s a fact of life that some people will be more burdened by health than others, and it’s a fact of life that people die, often much before their time. 

So what should we do about it all, when there’s nothing that we can do to change how fair things are? 

We should live. 

I may not have the health that I wish I have. But I have life, which is something to be so grateful for. Monday might have been a stereotypical bad day, as Mondays often are, but it was also a great day. A fun day. An enjoyable day, and I feel so blessed that I was alive to enjoy it. 

Despite the Mondays, life goes on. You can still enjoy life, despite the unfairness of it all. In fact, it is basically our duty to do so, because one day, there will be no days left to enjoy, and it may be sooner than you think (although I seriously hope not). 

Mondays happen. They are hard and terrible and change everything. But it’s important to still find reasons to smile and laugh. I can’t change the two lots of bad news that I received on Monday. I can’t improve my health (in this situation), and I can’t bring back my friend. But I can still have a good day and be happy. 

I hope you can find the happiness and the blessings in the midst of the Mondays. 

Arohanui, 
Tessa Ann 

2 thoughts on “Monday

  1. I’m truly sorry to hear about all the bad news.
    I’ve gone through my own trials, and watched friends go through theirs. I can’t understand all these things. But through it all I find I learn about the sovereignty of God. I’ve seen tragedies, but also miracles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

