Book Review: Between The Lines & Off The Page | Wordy Wednesday

Whoop it’s a double book review to make up for missing last week’s one. 

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

A romantic and charming story, this companion novel to Off the Page will make every reader believe in the fantastical power of fairy tales.

I’m sure you’ve all heard of Jodi Picoult, but it is much less likely that you’ve heard of Samantha van Leer. Samantha is actually Jodi’s daughter, and she is the one who conceived the idea, which is pretty awesome. 

I’ve only included the blurb for Between The Lines, because including the one for Off The Page would spoil some things. Also it calls BTL (I’m going to use abbreviations from now on) a companion novel to OTP (heh OTP what a great abbreviation), which to me implies that you don’t have to read BTL first. I disagree personally. There’s too much explained in BTL for OTP to make sense on its own. 

So my review. 

The general concept was very unique and interesting. The idea of book characters being alive was something that I hadn’t read before, and it was definitely interesting to see how someone chose to use it. At times, I didn’t quite understand the how the whole scenario was working, which made me feel as though it wasn’t quite right or something. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me. But it was still a fascinating concept, despite my reservations. 

For Between The Lines, I enjoyed it. Like I said, the general concept wasn’t something that I’d read before, making it new and refreshing. I enjoyed the alternating perspectives. There were a few aspects that I didn’t enjoy, but overall, my reaction to this book was positive. And I love that it contained illustrations. It made me feel closer to the story. 

The book that I really want to talk about is Off The Page. For the first half of the book, I wasn’t enjoying it very much. It was basically exactly the same as the first one, with some variation to keep things semi interesting. But the newness and the novelty of the idea had worn off for me, so I didn’t enjoy it fully. 

But. About halfway through, something completely unexpected and tragic happened. You know how much I love happy endings, so normally I’d despise this kind of thing. But the story needed it. It changed the tone from lighthearted to serious, and suddenly there were morals and lessons and tough decisions and heaps of character growth. The direction changed, and, in my opinion, it worked. 

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that’s done such a 180 in my mind. This one went from bleh to wow in the space of a page or two. I was not expecting it in the slightest, which was another plus. I’m generally quite good at predicting events, but this one had not crossed my mind in any way, shape, or form. 

So that was good. 

Overall, I enjoyed both of these books, but for different reasons. I liked the lighthearted nature and creativity of the first one, but it was the twist away from this that meant I liked the second one. Of the two, the second was my favourite. I gave them both four stars. 

I like it when books surprise me. It makes me feel like it was worth reading them.

Arohanui, 
Tessa Ann 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Between The Lines & Off The Page | Wordy Wednesday

Leave a Reply

