New Perspective | Motley Monday

I was going to write about my trip to Australia, but I’m really not feeling it today, so I’m going to write about something else instead. If you’re interested, I may still do a post about it in the future. 

So on Saturday, I posted a brief little extra post, which kind of explained how I was feeling about life at the time – manly a bit sad and nostalgic. 

Since then, I’ve still been feeling a bit like that, but something significant has changed. 

I’ve applied for university. 

I’ve selected my course, chosen my papers for next year (some of which I’m really excited about), and sent in my application. From my little knowledge of the university systems, both here and in America, I’m pretty sure that the one over here is a bit different. Except for a few specific courses, which have limited places, you’re almost guaranteed to get accepted if you have University Entrance, which isn’t too hard to get, so I’m not at all nervous about whether or not I’ll get in. 

Instead, my sadness has turned into a bit of excitement. The future that I’d planned for years is becoming a reality. I’m applying to university. I’m looking for a job. I’m growing up. And this time, I’m excited. My papers sound pretty interesting (especially the Creative Writing and Greek History ones that I chose as electives), and in four short years, I’ll be a qualified teacher, like I’ve dreamed of being since I was 13. It’s insane. And now that it’s becoming my reality, I’m excited. 

I have expectations for the future, and I know that they probably won’t always be met. But there is so much potential for amazing things to happen in my life. 

I’m excited. I’m sad to be moving on, but I know that the future I’m stepping into holds promise and potential. Let’s do this.

Arohanui, 
Tessa Ann 

One thought on “New Perspective | Motley Monday

Leave a Reply

