The List: Update #7 (& Other Bookish Updates) 

Whoop! Two posts in a week! Look who’s getting back into things! 

Oh, before I begin, I am very excited to inform you all that I finally cleared all of my emails that had been piling up since I went to Fiji in July. At one stage, I had about 500 unread emails. Now, I’ll be reading posts as they are released, and I’ll hopefully start commenting on some. 

While this is a post about The List, I thought I’d also briefly update you on what other books I’ve been reading. I’ve finally been reading three or four different series that many people read years ago. Those are:

  • A Series Of Unfortunate Events. I read the first three ish as a kid, but I never finished them. They are pure genius. Read them. 
  • The Hunger Games. I’m only about seven years behind the trend with this one. At the moment, I’ve only read the first one, but I enjoyed it so much that I bought the entire series off Book Depository (it cost about the same for the entire series as what you pay for a single paperback over here). I’m excited to keep reading them, despite knowing everything that happens. 
  • Roald Dahl’s books. I received a 15 book box set for my birthday, and I’ve been reading through it. Of the 15, I’d previously read 7, so I’m enjoying rereading those ones, and reading some new ones. 

Right. Now The List. 

Changes to The List: No changes. Although I started reading Wuthering Heights and was bored to death. I’ll give it another go though. 

Books I’ve read: If I’ve mathed right, I should have read 24. Nope. I’ve read 5. Although technically more. We’ll get to that in a minute. 

First up: Frankenstein. A cereal company was giving away free books if you bought two packets of cereal, and this one was an option, so I snagged it. It took me a while to read, but I did enjoy it. Very mind twisting and whatnot. It was not what I was expecting. Four stars. 

Next was The Kite Runner. Absolutely brilliant. During mock exams, my school allows us to bring in books and study material for if we finish early. I brought this with me for reading after my math exam, and I got so caught up in it that I completely forgot that I was still in the exam room. After the exam, a friend asked me how I’d done, and it took me a while to remember that I’d just sat an exam, because I’d been so focused on my book. To summarize how I feel, let’s read my Goodreads review: “It was just so full of horrible things and the fact that it’s based on real events makes it so much harder to read. But it’s also beautifully hopeful.” Five stars. Read it and cry. 

Next was my omnibus copy of Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland and Through The Looking-Glass. I own three copies of this, two of which I’ve had for as long as I can remember, and yet I’d never read it. Let’s go to Goodreads again to see what I said: “I feel like Lewis Carroll pulled random words out of a hat and forced them into a story. And I love it.” Perfect summary of the book. Five stars. 

And this is where things get interesting. Harry Potter was on The List, but I’d considered it as one I’d already read, since I read the first three when I was about 10. I wasn’t going to read them this year. After talking to a youth leader about them, I decided that I may as well. I already knew most of the major plot points, since people don’t really care about spoilers anymore, so they weren’t completely new to me. But I loved them. I gave each book four stars, but they’re pretty high four stars. Close to five. I even convinced my friend to read them. 

Finally, Charlie And The Chocolate Factory. I’d already read it, so it doesn’t really count, but I’m still putting it on here, since I hadn’t read it in years. A great book. Five stars. 

Favourite/least favourite: Wow. Every book got at least four stars. I’m not going to bother picking a favourite, because they’re all my favourites in different ways. What a great list of books. 

Next to read: I don’t have any grand plans. Maybe I’ll try a longer one. I haven’t actually tackled many of the huge ones. 

Les Miserables update: I read a fair chunk of this when I got my hair dyed, since I had to sit for a while. I’m currently at 14%. Definitely going to have to pick up the pace if I want to finish it by the end of the year. 

There we go! A nice loooong update post. I guess that makes up for the months with no updates. 

Arohanui, 
Tessa Ann 

4 thoughts on “The List: Update #7 (& Other Bookish Updates) 

  1. That’s lovely! A nice stretch of 4 and 5 star books!

    I remember plodding through Wuthering Heights. It was slow for the first half or so. But then I finished the rest of the book in one burst, as I was feeling sick and sleepless one night and needed something to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

