The Bookshelf Tour Tag | Motley Monday

Normally, I save tags for other days, and do ranty random things on Mondays. However, I have at least three (that I know of) tags that I’ve been meaning to do, and I have exactly zero ideas for a Monday post. So. I shall be doing a tag. 

Liz tagged me in this one agesss ago, and I’m finally doing it. Thank you, Liz! She actually created it herself, which I think is awesome. 

For this one, I have to select one book that I own to fit each category, and preferably include a picture. I shall not be including pictures, because I am far too last minute to have time for that. Some of the books might also not be ones that I own, because my book collection is not as extensive as I would like. 

But oh well! On with the tag! 

A short but powerful book: I’m going with Of Mice And Men (one that I don’t own) for this one, because a) it’s short, and b) my mum is still very angry that I recommended it to her. I loved it. She hated it. Arguments ensued. 

Actually, for one that I do own, that could be Fahrenheit 451. Pretty short, but amazingly powerful. 

A good, long book: Pretty sure the longest book I own would be Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. I inherited it (pun intended) when my brother moved to Australia. I have not read it yet. 

Favourite classic on your shelf: Umm. I’ve read quite a few classics this year, and there were some really good ones, but I don’t think I own any of the ones that I loved. Although The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes was pretty great. I’ll go with that. 

A relatively obscure book: A lot of my books are probably pretty obscure. I can’t think of any in particular that are overly so, though. 

An underrated book: I read Persuasion earlier this year, and I loved it. When it comes to Jane Austen, it’s one of the least popular, but it’s so good. If you want a smaller dose of Jane Austen than Pride And Prejudice or Emma, try Persuasion. It’s relatively short, and it’s so good. 

An overrated book: I don’t think I own any books that I consider to be overrated. However, I could go on a rant all day about either The Catcher In The Rye or The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. Don’t even get me started. 

Most reread book: There was this one book that I had when I was about 10 that I reread every couple of weeks for about six months straight, but I don’t think I own it anymore. My most reread that I own (technically it belongs to my mum) would probably be Kilmeny Of The Orchard by L.M. Montgomery. So good. I love it. 

Of all the books you own, how many have you not read? Back in January, I counted my books, and I owned about 400. Not long after that, I was given 40-50ish books from my grandmother, and with the few I’ve bought since then (or inherited from my brother), I probably have somewhere between 450 and 475. Of those, a large majority are children’s books, because I’m a sentimental fool who can’t bear to let go of things. So I’ve read all of those ones. I haven’t read most of the ones that my grandmother gave me, as well as a few others, so I’d probably say that there’s somewhere between 50 and 100 thaf I haven’t read (although probably closer to 50).

A book you haven’t read: Of the ones that I own, probably the one that sticks out is Alice In Wonderland. I own three different copies of it, two of which I’ve had for as long as I can remember, but I’ve never read any of them. 

A short story collection: I don’t know if I own any. Do I? Let’s investigate. 

Upon inspection, I can’t find any short story collections. I’m not sure how I feel about this. 

A non-fiction book: I’m pretty sure I’ve got a copy of a book about Helen Keller lying around here somewhere. 

A book (physical copy, not the story itself) that has an interesting story behind it: Closest thing I’ve got to an interesting story is my copy of a little poetry book. It’s about 100 years old, and was given to my great grandmother by her stepfather. (I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about this before). That part of our family history is very special and significant to us, so that book is rather special too. 

And there you have it! Now you know a bit more about my book collection. 

I think that I need to get some kind of storage unit/spare bedroom for all of the books that I’m keeping because of memories (I keep telling myself that I’m keeping them for my future children), and have a separate, much larger collection of books that are actually aimed at my age group or older. 

Anyways.

I’m going to tag Rachel, because she doesn’t post enough and I want to read her answers. And I also tag anyone else who would like to tell me about their book collection. 

I’ve missed doing tags. 

Arohanui, 
Tessa Ann 

Leave a comment