The List: Update #2

image

I’ve recently been complaining about life’s busyness. Since this is an update post, I thought I could squeeze in a life update as well and let you know what this busyness actually is.

First, there’s medical stuff. We still don’t know when the surgeries are going to be, so that kinda makes everything stressful. Then there’s my tailbone, which has been injured for the past eight months. We finally got it checked yesterday, but there’s not much I can do about it. There’s also headaches or migraines or whatever you want to call them. That’s a thing that’s been in my life recently. I got some medication yesterday, so hopefully that’ll help. And on top of all that, I think I’m getting a cold? Either that or I have allergies to something mysterious.

Then there’s future plans. Next month, we shall be having a Thai student stay with us. And I’m organizing an event thing which is three weeks away, which involves a lot of fundraising and meetings. And I have two camps in March, one straight after the other. My brother and I just booked flights to go up north for a few days in the April holidays. I became Youth Rep for Girls’ Brigade on the weekend, so I’ll be organizing a few events for that, and having a weekend away sometime in Mayish. And then there’s the super exciting thing in July and I’ve got to do fundraising for that.

And then we’ve got life. Queen’s Award, which I’ve been ignoring. School work. Other life commitments.

Life really is busy. Prayers are appreciated.

And now for the update that you actually came here for.

Changes to The List: No changes.

Books I’ve read: I mentioned last time that I was reading Emma. Well, I still haven’t finished that. It’s just so dang long. I am very familiar with the story, and I love it, but it just frustrates me to read so slowly, so I’m a bit less than halfway through. I have, however, read three other books this week.

First up was The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I somehow ended up with the radio script version of it, rather than the novel, although that turned out to be a good thing, because I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was so humorous, and despite the fact that I’m not the biggest fan of that kind of genre, I still found it extremely interesting. It was a great read. I did get rather confused by it at some points, and I think I’ll probably read the novel in the future, to try and clear things up. (Also, if anyone knows where I can find recordings of the original radio show, I’d love to listen to them.) All in all, it was a great read, and I gave it four stars.

The next book I read was a short (but not very sweet) one called Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck. I read the entirety of this yesterday. I’m still processing everything. I’d been warned about it, but I was expecting something different, somehow. I was talking to my English teacher about it afterwards, and we came to the conclusion that it is dark and depressing and tragic, but in a way that is almost beautiful. I just don’t have the words to describe how I feel about it. I guess it kind of reminded me of Flowers For Algernon, in a way? I don’t know. I’m still kind of traumatized by it, but in a good way? This book has wrecked havoc with my emotions. I gave it four stars as well, but I feel like four stars is too high and too low and just not right. This book has destroyed me.

The final book I read was Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie. I just finished it. Meaning I read half the book, wrote the post up until this point, and then finished the book. While I’ve seen movies like Finding Neverland (which we studied for English a couple of years ago), Hook, and Pan, I’ve never actually seen the movie Peter Pan (although I watched a live performance type thing on TV sometime last year), so I’m not overly familiar with the story. It was interesting. It was so dark and violent but in a light and innocent kind of way. The writing style was so very poetic and intriguing. It was quite different from what I expected. Peter was a bit of a cocky jerk, and I could easily describe Tinkerbell with a word that rhymes with witch, but I don’t use that kind of language on here. I enjoyed it, mostly because it was so very different to what I was expecting. Four stars as well.

Favourite/least favourite: Again, I cannot pick. I liked them all for entirely different reasons. Hitchhiker’s Guide was light and funny, while also being kind of deep and meaningful. Of Mice And Men was so beautifully tragic. And Peter Pan was so unexpectedly dark but innocent. They were all great pieces of literature, and I can’t choose a favourite.

Next to read: Before the next update, I’ll hopefully finish Emma. I also plan on reading Catch-22, since I’ve still got it out from the library, and I think I might try and finish Little Women, which I started in August and never finished. I think I’m about halfway through. Otherwise, I don’t have any specific plans. Probably something shorter, since all of those ones are about 500 pages. And maybe something more modern, if there are any. Or I might begin rereading The Chronicles Of Narnia. We’ll see.

Anyone else read any of these? Thoughts? Which one was your favourite? Have you recovered from Of Mice And Men yet? I certainly haven’t.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

Leave a Reply

