Book Review: Green Valentine | Wordy Wednesday

image

Today, I shall be reviewing Green Valentine by Lili Wilkinson, which I read a couple of weeks ago.

image

When Astrid and Hiro meet they give each other superhero names. She’s Lobster Girl and he’s Shopping Trolley Boy. Not an auspicious beginning. But it gets better. Then it gets worse. Much worse. Classic romantic comedy: girl-meets-boy, love blossoms, and is derailed. Incredibly engaging, upbeat, funny and smart.

Astrid Katy Smythe is beautiful, smart and popular. She’s a straight-A student and a committed environmental activist. She’s basically perfect.

Hiro is the opposite of perfect. He’s slouchy, rude and resentful. Despite his brains, he doesn’t see the point of school.

But when Astrid meets Hiro at the shopping centre where he’s wrangling shopping trolleys, he doesn’t recognise her because she’s in disguise – as a lobster. And she doesn’t set him straight.

Astrid wants to change the world, Hiro wants to survive it. But ultimately both believe that the world needs to be saved from itself. Can they find enough in common to right all the wrongs between them?

A romantic comedy about life and love and trying to make the planet a better place, with a little heartbreak, and a whole lot of hilarity.

THIS ONE WAS SO CUTE.

I was kind of scared to read it, because it sounded adorable, but I knew that it would probably just be really awful and I’d hate it.

I WAS SO WRONG.

JUST READ WHAT I SENT TO RACHEL, OKAY?

image

image

It’s not letting me make the pictures bigger. Dumb technology.

Alright. I don’t even know where to begin.

It’s set in Australia, which is awesome. There’s so few books set in NZ (meaning zilch that are actually decent), so I instead get excited for Australian books, because, despite all the rivalry, they’re really like our big brother or something, so I’m happy for them.

If I’m this excited for Australian books, I can’t imagine how excited I’d be if there was a decent book set in NZ.

It was also about gardening. GARDENING, PEOPLES. A ROMANCE ABOUT GARDENING. I DON’T EVEN GARDEN BUT THIS WAS SO ADORABLE.

And it had bad guys and an evil plotish and stuff that was revealed partway through and there was secrecy and it was emotional and beautiful and IT HAD A HAPPY ENDING AND YOU KNOW HOW MUCH I LOVE THOSE.

It was just adorable.

As for the no swearing thing (which was mentioned in my message to Rachel) there did end up being some, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as most other books so YAY.

Gaaahhhh I just loved it to pieces.

I’ve come to the conclusion that for me to give a book five stars, it has to meet both of the following criteria:
1. I have to really really love it (duh)
2. It has to make me yell

And, well, since I had caps lock on for a large portion of this post, you can probably guess what the rating is going to be.

5 stars: OH MY GOODNESS YES YES YES ALL THE YESES LOVE LOVE LOVE

This was adorable. More books like it, please.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Green Valentine | Wordy Wednesday

Leave a Reply

