Book Review: A Little Something Different | Wordy Wednesday

image

Today’s review shall be brief because I have technology issues that are driving me crazy, and I won’t manage a whole post without screaming.

I’m reviewing A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall, which I read a week ago.

image

The distinctive new crowdsourced publishing imprint Swoon Reads proudly presents its first published novel—an irresistibly sweet romance between two college students told from 14 different viewpoints.

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together…

I have no idea where I came across this one. Probably Goodreads. But I had it on my TBR, and the library had it when I needed something to read, so I read it.

And really enjoyed it.

The whole way through, there was a voice inside my head saying, “Why are you enjoying this?” It just seemed like I shouldn’t be enjoying it. Like it was too cheesy or not well written or something. But I did enjoy it. It was just so darn cute.

I mean, sure, I had definite problems with it. I didn’t like one or two of the perspectives, and there were other aspects of it that I just didn’t like. However, it was still extremely enjoyable, and I’m so glad I read it. My favourite perspectives were the bench, who had so much sass and personality, and the squirrel, who was just really cute and fun.

4 stars: I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it, but I didn’t absolutely love it.

I’m done. Technology is driving me crazy. Hopefully I’ll have it figured out by the next post, or there’ll be screaming.

So. Yes. Good book. Read it if you like romance.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Little Something Different | Wordy Wednesday

  1. Oh, I hope you figure out your technology issues soon. 😦 Those are so frustrating.

    This book does sound…interesting. At first I was a little leery of the idea of having so many viewpoints, but I think I would probably read this book just for the squirrel’s and the bench’s viewpoints. *nods*

    Like

    • I think I’ve sorted it out, because everything seems to working perfectly again. Although that wasn’t the first time that it’d happened, so I’m not making any promises.

      It was rather interesting, and I’m glad I read it. And yes, those two viewpoints definitely make it worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

