Book Review: Uglies Series | Wordy Wednesday

image

Today, I shall be attempting to review the book series Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.

image

Blurb for Uglies: Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…

I say attempting because I still don’t know what I think about them.

I read Uglies because a friend of mine was reading it, and it sounded quite interesting. I’m not the biggest fan of dystopian, but I thought I’d give it a try anyway. I finally finished the series last week, after putting off reading Specials for various reasons.

So the general gist is that there’s this surgery to make people “pretty” when they turn 16, except some people oppose to it, and they influence this girl Tally, who is the main character in the first three books, and a minor character in the last book.

I have no idea how I feel about these books.

I think, after pondering it for a while, I’ve come to the conclusion that I like the concept more than the execution.

The whole concept of the surgery and that style of society interests me. That’s why I read it in the first place. But I think I just didn’t really enjoy it too much. The first two were alright, although somewhat predictable, I’d say. There were certain aspects that were very interesting, which I enjoyed. And the whole thing was well written. I just didn’t really enjoy it? I don’t know. As for the third, I didn’t really enjoy it. It had too much of the stuff that I don’t like about dystopians. And the fourth was good. Probably my favourite. But it was extremely different from the others, in a way. It had an entirely different concept, which I also liked.

I’m still so unsure about how I feel about this series.

I think I just didn’t enjoy them that much in general. It seemed like a chore to read them, especially the third. I think it was more that I wanted to actually finish the series, rather than I was enjoying them.

Ahaha this review is a mess.

They were well written. There was little or no scenes and words that made me uncomfortable or made me dislike them. They had character growth and development, and they weren’t fully predictable. Basically, they tick every box that makes me like a book, in theory.

But I just didn’t really enjoy reading them that much. I don’t know why. They just weren’t my favourite books.

Overall, I’m giving the series a rating of 3.5, which puts it somewhere between “Kind of meh. Nothing to be yelling about, but not awful. Just didn’t really do much for me, although I can see why it might be liked,” and “I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it, but I didn’t absolutely love it.”

I gave all but the third four stars on Goodreads, and I gave the third three. I think I’m happy with that, although the four stars are definitely on the low end.

There we go. My mixed feelings about the Uglies series.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Uglies Series | Wordy Wednesday

  1. Interesting. I’ve always wondered about the Uglies series. I almost started reading it a few years back, and then for whatever reason I just ended up not reading them. I do still want to read them at some point, because I do like the concept a lot, but I haven’t really heard a lot about them. *shrugs* Thanks for reviewing them. 🙂

    Like

    • I hadn’t heard about them until my friend read the first one a few months ago, and I ended up reading the whole series. The concept is definitely very interesting, so make sure you do at least read the first one. And you’re welcome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

