Why I Really Love Christmas | Motley Monday

image

I watched the first episode of Sherlock last night, and I’m officially hooked. I’m not entirely sure yet if this is a good thing.

I looooove Christmas! And it’s on Friday so my excitement levels are currently through the roof. To share my excitement with you, I’ve compiled a shortish list of reasons why I love this particular holiday.

1. The food.
I know that food for holidays is more of a thing in America, but my family does have some traditions in regards to food that I love. We always have croissants for breakfast on Christmas morning, and my great aunt always sends us homemade fudge and truffles and mince pies that are om nom nom.

2. The family time.
Christmas is one of the only days when my brothers don’t hate me, which is lovely. Other than that, I love getting to see my extended family, who I don’t often see because we’re spread out all over the country.

3. The music.
I love Christmas music. It’s amazing. I have listened to it in May before. Don’t judge me. It’s just so beautiful and makes me happy.

4. The presents.
Call me selfish and materialistic, but I love getting presents. Especially from extended family who give me random things that I never would’ve asked for but love when I get it. We had a mini Christmas with some extended family on Saturday, and I was given an awesome clock. Never would’ve asked for it, but it’s awesome.

5. The services.
I love going to the Christmas Eve service at my church. It’s directed at children, so that makes it super enjoyable. It’s just a really fun service.

6. Our traditions.
My family, like every other family has lots of traditions at Christmas. I love each and every one of them, from the seminormal to the absolutely weird. It just feels right, you know, to do the same thing year after year, and yet have it be completely different because we’re all growing up and changing.

7. The message of Christmas.
I saved the best til last. Christmas is a time when I, as a Christian, reflect on the gift that God was sending at that very first Christmas. Easter is the time of year when we remember the sacrifice that He made, but Christmas is just filled with absolute joy, because it was when Jesus was born. No sadness or death, even if it is only short-term. Oh no, Christmas is a time of pure joy. And I love it.

There you go. Why I love Christmas. Did I forget anything? Let me know.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

2 thoughts on “Why I Really Love Christmas | Motley Monday

  1. I must admit, I love getting presents too, especially books and other useful things. And the food. Your Christmas food sounds amazing. 🙂 My sister and I are going to have a second Christmas in a month or two, when the snow finally falls, so I may have to suggest chocolate croissants for that. 😛

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! And you’re totally right–Christmas is definitely a time of pure joy. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t think it’s a problem to love getting presents, as long as we don’t get obsessive and materialistic about it.

      A second Christmas sounds very exciting, especially with snow! We don’t put chocolate on our croissants, but I might have to do that next time we have them. That would be delicious.

      I hope your Christmas was great too, and that your second one goes awesomely as well! And yes, it most certainly is.

      Like

Leave a Reply

