Book Review: She Is Not Invisible | Wordy Wednesday

image

Two things before I begin the review:

1. I’ve finally actually started using Goodreads. I made an account back in Juneish, but never went on it. I downloaded the app on Monday, and now I’ve started actually using it, which is nice, because it means that my TBR is getting even more uncompleteable, and making me even more depressed because there are now so many books on it that the library doesn’t have. But oh well. Feel free to add me. Tessa Ann Christensen. Also I added the Goodreads widget, displaying my TBR. So if you ever feel like randomly sending me a present, feel free to look at that.

2. Due to needing to rate books on Goodreads to get recommendations, I’ve finally come up with a rating system that works for me. I’d previously avoided that, because I didn’t feel like I could compare books in that way. But it is necessary, so here’s how it goes.

1 star: I hate it. Get it out of my life. What a waste of time.
2 stars: Not the worst thing I’ve ever read, but I wouldn’t recommend it or read it again.
3 stars: Kind of meh. Nothing to be yelling about, but not awful. Just didn’t really do much for me, although I can see why it might be liked.
4 stars: I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it, but I didn’t absolutely love it.
5 stars: OH MY GOODNESS YES ALL THE YESES LOVE LOVE LOVE

There ya go. How I rate books. If you’re interested to see how I’ve rated books that have been reviewed on here in the past, I encourage you to check out my Goodreads, because every book I’ve reviewed on here now has a star rating on here. Also, in the near future, I might sort my Book Reviews page by rating. We’ll see.

image

Laureth Peak’s father is a writer. For years he’s been trying, and failing, to write a novel about coincidence. His wife thinks he’s obsessed, Laureth thinks he’s on the verge of a breakdown. He’s supposed to be doing research in Austria, so when his notebook shows up in New York, Laureth knows something is wrong. On impulse she steals her mother’s credit card and heads for the States, taking her strange little brother Benjamin with her. Reunited with the notebook, they begin to follow clues inside, trying to find their wayward father. Ahead lie challenges and threats, all of which are that much tougher for Laureth than they would be for any other 16-year old. Because Laureth Peak is blind.

I can’t find the blurb for the edition I read online, but I like this one better anyway.

Why did I choose to read this book?

BECAUSE SHE’S BLIND.

I have, and always have had, a strange fascination with being blind. It’s probably related to the fact that I have many eye problems. So, when I saw this book, I was like YES PLEASE. And then I forgot about it, before rediscovering my Goodreads account, where I had saved it as to-read. I got it out from the library and read it on Monday.

What did I think? AMAZING.

So the main character, Laureth (love the name, even if her mother doesn’t), kind of kidnaps her younger brother Benjamin, and goes to New York to try find her dad, who just so happens to be obsessed with coincidence. There was a lot about coincidence (or co-inky-dink), some of which went over my head. But there were other parts that blew my mind and that I really loved, so it wasn’t completely lost.

The plot was basically the two kids trying to find their dad in the middle of an unfamiliar country. It was interesting and suspenseful, and was dotted with pages from the dad’s notebook, about coincidence and the birthday paradox and all that. I loved how we got to see the dad’s character and personality, even though he wasn’t around when events were occurring.

But my absolute favourite part?

The way that Laureth’s blindness was shown.

It was like the reader was blind. Seriously, it was amazingly accurate. There were things that seeing people would pick up on that she didn’t, and that MOST DEFINITELY came through to the reader. It was so amazing. You could clearly tell that she was blind, and it was so well written. The way that Benjamin communicates with her; the way that she hid it from strangers; the way that things were revealed to the reader at the same time as they were revealed to her… It was incredible. Writing from the first person perspective of someone who is blind is risky and it could go completely wrong, but Marcus Sedgwick pulled it off so well. I felt like I was definitely experiencing the world the same way that she did.

I’m still so impressed by it. Gahhhh it was wonderful.

5 stars: OH MY GOODNESS YES ALL THE YESES LOVE LOVE LOVE

Please recommend any books with blind MCs that you know of. I’m desperate to read more.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

3 thoughts on “Book Review: She Is Not Invisible | Wordy Wednesday

  1. I’ve never heard of this one before, but OH MY GOODNESS I NEED IT NOW. It looks so good and I don’t think I’ve ever read any books with blind MCs (unless my memory is deserting me in my old age). So I need this one now. And I’m really glad you liked it. 🙂

    Like

    • YES YES YES YOU MUST READ IT. I have no idea how I heard about it either, but it was on my TBR and I read it and it was amazing. I think the only other books I’ve read with blind characters were ones about Helen Keller and her teacher, and a series where the MC’s dad was blind, and it showed how it affected the MC’s life. So this was a first for me too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

