Beautiful Books #1: Introduce Your Novel | Motley Monday

image

Before I begin, I have an extremely exciting announcement. Some of you may have seen my post back in August about my inability to comment on blogs.

Well. Yesterday, I finally sorted it out! So be prepared for comments from meee!

Can you tell I’m excited?

So last week I posted about NaNoWriMo. I listed a whole heap of reasons that I had for doing it or not doing it. After a lot of thought and contemplation and arguing with myself, I have decided to participate. I’m so flipping stoked. Also stressed. But mainly stoked.

To celebrate, I decided to do this month’s Beautiful Books linkup run by Cait from Paper Fury, and Sky from Further Up And Further In. I haven’t participated in this linkup before, although I have thought about it a few times. This one is different to normal, though. Rather than the questions being about characters, the questions are about the novel you are planning on writing for NaNo.

image

1. How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?
I came up with the idea sometime last year. A friend of mine (also with ptosis) sent me her story about a girl with ptosis, and it gave me inspiration to write one of my own.

2. Why are you excited to write this novel?
Because it’s about a girl with ptosis, which I’ve never read about before (other than the one my friend sent me, of course). Also because it’s going to be set in New Zealand, and hopefully not be strange like all of the other novels set here. And I’m also just really excited to have an idea for something that could potentially become a novel.

3. What is your novel about, and what is the title?
The title is Face The Facts, and it’s about a girl called Sarah who has ptosis. It’s about the affect that bullying can have on a person’s character and personality, and it’s about finding hope after darkness.

4. Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)
I wrote a detailed post about the characters a few months ago (although, the way things are going, it won’t quite be the same as this). I have a very hard time describing them with one word, so I’ll just leave you with a link to that post. Which does have pictures.

5. Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!
Well the whole thing is told from Sarah’s first person perspective, and I really cannot wait to write that, but the one I’m most excited about is Devlin, who isn’t actually on that post I linked. I’m excited about him, coz he’s my baby and I love him. He’s amazing. And that’s all I’m going to say about him.

6. What is your protagonistโ€™s goal, and what stands in the way?
Sarah’s main goal is probably just to be happy, and her past is what stands in her way.

7. Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!)
My novel is set in modern day New Zealand, and I am so, so excited about it!

image

This cute little place.

I’ve narrowed it down to two cities to have it set in:

image

This one…

image

Or this one…

When I say cities, I mean one has a population of around 80,000, and is the seventh largest (population wise) city in New Zealand, and the other is smaller. So they are not huge.

Honestly, though, why aren’t more books set in this beautiful place?

8. What is the most important relationship your character has?
Probably the most life-changing would be Sarah’s relationships with Bella and Will, her close friends. Or Devlin. Always Devlin. Actually, I’m not sure. They’re all important.

9. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
Isn’t that kind of spoiling it? But I think Sarah becomes less extreme in her studious ways. Ah I don’t know how to say this. I know exactly what I mean, but I can’t explain it. She goes from being stiff and mostly emotionless to being someone who actually lives her life. I’m botching this up, aren’t I?

10. What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?
Hmm. Mainly that there is hope. I want people to feel a multitude of both positive and negative emotions. If someone told me after reading it that they had the feels, or that they had cried, then I would have succeeded.

NaNoWriMo BONUS: Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.
I have absolutely no idea. Give up on the world for a month and hibernate in a cave with chocolate and a laptop.

Woo! That was fun! I’m getting so excited for November!

Oh, and for those of you also doing NaNo, please add me as a buddy! My username is Tessa Ann.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

5 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #1: Introduce Your Novel | Motley Monday

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ooh, I hadn’t even heard of ptosis and had to look it up…and my 5month old niece has a “lazy eye”…so I wonder if it’s the same thing or related or something? Super interesting. And it’s also AMAZINGLY AWESOME that you’re filling the gap of not-many-books-on-this-topic. ๐Ÿ˜€ That is wonderful. WOOT.
    Thanks for joining in!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. I love your book title so much, and it sounds super interesting. I hope you have a great time doing NaNoWriMo this year. I’m totally going to add you (my username is lornadoone11).

    Like

Leave a Reply

