NaNoWriMo – Yes Or No? | Motley Monday

image

Term four started today. I have three and a half weeks to get my act together and actually produce some decent work if I’m going to have any shot at passing the year with excellence, like I have every other year.

But enough of that. Today I need to discuss NaNoWriMo with you.

For those of you who aren’t aware (like me this time last year): NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. Basically, for the month of November, the goal is to write a 50,000 word novel. I kind of want to do it, and when I say kind of, I mean I really really want to do it. But, at the same time, I’m not sure if it is a good idea. So. I have compiled a list of why I should and shouldn’t do it. I need your help to come to a consensus, based on this list.

Should: I can finally start writing again, and actually make a decent attempt at the novel I started months ago and haven’t touched since.

Shouldn’t: I don’t know if I have the capabilities to write a whole novel.

Should: I actually have a lot of ideas at the moment, and I feel like now would be the perfect time to write.

Shouldn’t: I might not have enough ideas to pull off 50,000 words.

Should: I only have to go to school for six days in November, four of which are half days, giving me plenty of time to write.

Shouldn’t: I’m supposed to be studying when I’m not at school, and those half days are actually exams. Like I said, I need to get my act together when it comes to schoolwork, which means actually studying.

Should: Even if I study for a decent amount of time per day, I’ll still have plenty of time to write if I manage my time well.

Shouldn’t: I haven’t managed my time well in years, so the above point is basically impossible.

Should: A lot of my other commitments end partway through November, so again, I’ll have plenty of time.

Shouldn’t: I have Queen’s Award stuff to do. Lots of it.

Should: I might not get the chance to participate again for a while, since I’ll be more involved in Queen’s Award and other stuff this time next year, so I should take the opportunity while I can squeeze it in.

Shouldn’t: It isn’t necessary to just write a novel in a particular month. I could just put it off a month, until I’m completely done with school, and do it in December instead.

Should: Without the pressure of having an actual deadline and something to commit to, I won’t get it done any other month. This is the best opportunity.

Shouldn’t: What if I fail?

Should: What if I don’t?

~~~

So. Should I or shouldn’t I? Based on the points I’ve made, what do you think I should do? Help me, please!

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Yes Or No? | Motley Monday

  1. Well, I mean, all your other commitments are important too, but NaNoWriMo is such a wonderful experience, and I would hate for you to miss it. It’s more than just writing a novel. You get pep talks, and there are so many forums where you can interact with all the other participants, and you get a graph that shows your progress, and I just love it so much. Yeah, you should do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

