Book Review: Everything, Everything | Wordy Wednesday

image

Back to regular reviews! Today I’ll be reviewing Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

image

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I discovered this book after someone did a review of it (maybe Cait from Paper Fury?) and I thought it looked interesting. So I reserved it and read it while I was on camp.

So. What’d I think?

I really enjoyed it. There were multiple styles of chapters, which I liked. I found that it was both light and fluffy and dark and heavy at the same time, if that’s possible. Maddy, for me, was a good character, as was Olly. I saw them grow and change throughout the story. There was some suspense that kept me interested, because it didn’t reveal the whole back story to begin with.

But what I liked most about it?

I WAS NOT AT ALL EXPECTING THE ENDING.

I have a problem with being extremely good at predicting endings, or plot twists, that kind of thing. But this one? Did not see that coming. And that makes me so happy. It had been a long time since I had been so surprised by a plot twist. Ahh it was amazing.

It wasn’t perfect, but the issues I had with it were minor. Just a couple of pet peeves of mine; nothing huge. All in all, I really enjoyed it, and would recommend it. Although it is a romance, so maybe not if that isn’t your cup of tea.

There we go. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. A great book.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything, Everything | Wordy Wednesday

  1. I’ve been hearing about this book in random corners of the internet, and I’ve actually added it to my list of books to check out someday. I do like what I’ve heard about it, and I’m glad that you liked it, aside from the few bits that annoyed you. And I’m excited to hear about the plot twisty ending, because I usually always predict endings too, and I like stuff I can’t see coming. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

