A Writer’s Life For Me Tag

I was going to do Song of the Week yesterday, but by the time I got around to it, the only songs I could think of were Teddy Bears’ Picnic (???) and Barbie Girl, thanks to my brother’s birthday party.

Yes. My brother’s birthday party.

I live in an interesting household.

image

Rachel tagged me again, for the tag created by booktubers Sara Ella and Sara Crawford. I’ve never watched them before, but the first thing I’m going to do after I’ve done this is watch some of their videos.

Rules of the tag:
•Thank and link back to the person who tagged you (thanks Rach!)
•Use the picture for the tag
•Answer the questions
•Tag 5-10 bloggers
•Have fun

The questions:

1. What kind of writer are you?
Well, when I actually write, I write contemporary YA fiction, which normally leans towards being Christian if it isn’t outright. That didn’t make sense. Oh well.

2. When did you start writing? What made you want to try?
I’ve been writing my whole life, as you can see from my Flashback Fridays. I’ve always loved reading, which turned into loving to write as well. I’ve always dreamed of writing something that people enjoy as much as I enjoy books written by other people. However, my first serious attempt was probably a few years ago, and I’ve been writing on and off since.

3. What inspires your stories?
Mostly my own experiences and the books that I read. Occasionally, a picture or something random may also spark an idea.

4. What themes do you like to explore in your writing?
Umm good question. Probably a lot of it has something to do with hope. But I also have a lot of Christian themes, whatever that is. I don’t know, really. I should probably think about that.

5. Are you a pantser, a plotter, or a bit of both?
I’m a pantser, but I’d like to be a plotter, if that makes sense. The next time that I get time to actually sit down and write (which will probably be in two and a half years or something), I want to try and plot and get everything on track.

6. Where are you in your journey? Querying, agented, published?
Ha. Haha. Hahaha. I’m in the “I have an idea and a few scenes and no time to write” stage.

7. Have you ever entered any writing contests? Finalled? Won?
I have entered a couple, but I don’t think I’ve ever won anything, unless I did when I was a kid and I can’t remember. I haven’t entered one in a few years though. I am thinking of entering a short story in a competition soon, if I can get up the courage. I might do a separate post about that.

8. Who are your writing heroes?
Um. I don’t know, really. Basically any author that has successfully written and published something semi decent. I admire anyone who can actually do that. Also, Christopher Paolini. He was flipping 15 when he wrote Eragon. Speaking of which, I never finished that series. I should do that.

9. Have you ever been to a writing conference? Share your best or worst conference experiences.
I live in New Zealand. We don’t get much of that stuff around here. And if we did, it would be in Auckland. So no, I haven’t. One day. If I ever start writing again.

10. Top three tips you’d give to newbie writers:
Well, that’s basically me, so I don’t know how helpful these will be. But I’ll try.
1. No idea is a bad idea. Write it down even if it sounds stupid. Who knows, it might become the next Harry Potter or Hunger Games.
2. Read a lot. Actually, I’d give this tip to anyone and everyone. But seriously, how will you know how to write if you don’t read? Devour good books daily.
3. Just write. Don’t hold back, just go for it. Don’t be scared or whatever. Just write. You won’t go anywhere if you keep putting it off. If you have an idea, go for it.

I should probably take my own advice.

I’m not going to tag anyone, because that involves effort, and I have a large pile of books (and homework) calling my name. So that’ll be all for today. However, if you want to do the tag, go ahead, and let me know. I would love to hear what everyone else has to say.

Arohanui,
Tessa Ann

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Life For Me Tag

  1. aimeemeesterwrites says:

    *creeps onto your blog for the first time like the generally awkward person I am*
    This was really fun to read! 😀 I love hearing about different writers and their personalities and styles, which is why this tag is fun for me to read. I’m with you on #4, hope is a big theme that I like to work into my own books.

    Like

    • *tries not to sound equally awkward as she comes up with a semi normal response*
      Thank you! I love hearing other peoples’ (where does the apostrophe go in peoples????) responses too. And that’s awesome! Hope is a big thing for me, and I’d love to be able to convey that in my writing. I’m glad someone agrees with me on that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

