Day 143: Fictional Elevator

That last one was deep and depressing. Let’s make this one a bit lighter.

You’re stuck in an elevator with an intriguing stranger. Write this scene.

I run towards the elevator. “Please hold it!” The doors begin to close, just as I reach it. But someone is in the elevator, and they hold the doors for me. I step in and press the button for the ninth floor.

I bend over, panting. Once I catch my breath, I stand up straight. It is then that I glimpse the stranger, the person who held the elevator for me.

She is a young girl, no older than 18, at a guess. Her jet black hair is held in place by a red ribbon, tied with a bow. Compared to her hair, her skin looks as white as snow, although her cheeks are rosy red. Her dress is what grabs me. It is blue, yellow, and red, and it is stunning. I would love to own something like that. This girl is honestly the most beautiful girl I’ve ever seen.

Suddenly, the elevator lurches and comes to a halt. The girl’s eyes widen.
“What just happened?”
“I think the elevator stopped working. We might be stuck here for a while, so we may as well get better acquainted. What’s your name?”
“Gwyneira. It is a Welsh name.”
“It’s a beautiful name! I’m Rory.”
“Isn’t that a boys’ name?”
“Well, my name isn’t really Rory. It’s just a nickname.”
“Oh OK.”
“I love your dress, by the way. It’s gorgeous!”
“Thank you! You are too kind. I made it myself.”
“You are extremely talented.”
Her rosy cheeks turn a shade darker. “Thank you!”
“What’s in the basket, if you don’t mind me asking?”
“Apples for my stepmother. She’s sick, and I was on my way to visit her. My uncles and father are up there, waiting for me. How about you? Where are you headed?”
“Home. To bed. I’m exhausted. I feel like I haven’t slept in years.”
“Hopefully we won’t be stuck here for long, then.”
“Fingers crossed.”
“How long have you been living here? I haven’t seen you around before.”
“Oh, not long. I’m staying with my three aunts for a while.”
“Sounds lovely.”
“Oh, it’s a bit chaotic. They have dozens of pets, and I hate animals. I don’t understand them. But yeah, it’s been fun.”
“Sounds a bit like my stepmother’s place. What with my six uncles and my father, it is quite crowded.”
“Six uncles?”
“Yes. My father is one of seven boys.”
“How exciting. I’m an only child.”
“So am I.”

The elevator lurches again, and I wake up. What a weird dream.

~~~

Well that was bizarre. It started off that the stranger was going to be a little girl with golden ringlets, and then my imagination twisted it and went crazy.

In case you didn’t pick up on it, the stranger was supposed to be like Snow White (gywn: white, eira: snow), and the other girl was Sleeping Beauty (Rory being a nickname for Aurora).

I have no idea where that came from.

~this was supposed to go up last night but I fell asleep. Whoops~

Leave a Reply

