Day 135: Memories For Sale

That title sums up exactly how I felt when we held a garage sale last year.

On a weekend road trip, far away from home, you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through. Astonished, you find an object among the belongings for sale that you recognize. Tell us about it.

Funnily enough, I’m actually going on a road trip this weekend (ie tomorrow but actually today since it’s after midnight). We’re travelling up to a big birthday party for a friend of mine. But I’ll talk more about that a bit later.

When I read this, one particular thing popped into my head. I’m going to say that this garage sale is similar to the one we had-full of toys and that kind of thing.

When I was seven, we got new carpet on the whole house (except my parents’ room, which didn’t need it since it was a newer extension). Around that time, I lost one of my dolls.

Her name (I think, although I could just be making it up) was Anne. She was smallish, maybe a bit bigger than my hand is now. She wasn’t a fabric doll, but she wasn’t plastic, I don’t think. I’m not quite sure what she was made of. I’m pretty sure that one of her shoulders was broken. I also have a feeling that she might have belonged to my mum before she belonged to me. Again, though, I might just be making that up. Apparently I don’t actually know a lot about her. I was only seven, after all.

When we got new carpet, we had to pack everything into boxes, and move it out of the way until the carpet was down. We then moved everything back in, although it took us a while to unpack all of the boxes. At some point, I realized that Anne was nowhere to be found. At first, I assumed that she was still packed away, but we unpacked all of the boxes without finding her. I was pretty sad about it.

Finding her at a random garage sale would be awesome, though extremely unlikely.

Alrighty. That’ll do. And now I need to quickly explain what’s happening this weekend before I fall asleep.

Like I said, I’m going away tomorrow. I have no idea if the place that I’m staying at has WiFi. If it doesn’t, then I won’t be posting tomorrow. I had planned on typing up the book review (for Weekend Extra) and the post, and then setting a timer to get them to post on the right day, but since I can barely keep my eyes open.

So I may or may not post tomorrow. If I don’t, I’ll try and catch up on Sunday.

Hope you all have a fabulous weekend.

Leave a Reply

