Day 121: Personal Space

To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

Well. Good question.

This is most definitely a place for me to express myself. I don’t have very many readers at all (although I haven’t actually looked at my stats in a while, so things could have changed). I started this blog in the first place so that I could do this challenge. My goal was not to get a whole bunch of readers.

But I would love to have more readers. I would love to have a few comments on each post rather than just the occasional one. I would love it if more people interacted with me on here, because it often feels like this blog is useless and I’m just talking to myself.

Which is something that I do on a daily basis anyway.

Would I stick to certain topics and types of posts to triple my readers? I would not. I would feel like I wasn’t posting what I wanted to post, and instead conforming to be more popular, which is something that I try to not do. It wouldn’t be me.

To summarize. This blog is for me to express myself in a way that I can’t anywhere else. I love the few readers that I had, but I wish that there was more interaction. In saying that, I wouldn’t change things just to get more readers.

So we’re in a lose-lose situation here, basically.

I would like to know, though. Do my posts bore you? What would you change about this blog? What could I be doing better? Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

