Day 116: Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored β€” what is it that speaks to you?

I am the kind of person that will read books multiple times. Any book, really. If I liked it the first time, I’ll read it again.

I think it’s because I like familiarity. I like knowing what’s going to happen. It is always interesting the second time that you read a book, because you have more insight on the things that are happening.

But, above all that, some books are just really good books that I love reading. I’ve mentioned a couple on here before that I can read over and over again. Wonder by R. J. Palacio. The Maya Davis series by Erynn Mangum. Basically any book by Melody Carlson. That kind of thing.

I just realized something. This is kind of off topic, but why do people buy books if they only read them once? I should probably explain what I mean. I know that a lot of people can’t or don’t reread books. They read it once, and that is it, no matter how good it is. Why, then would you own any books? What is the point? You’ll just read it and then never touch it again. I have read around 90% of the books that I own more than once. I don’t think I’m exaggerating there. And I own probably around 300 books.

Actually, I should count. Here’s a fun exercise. How many books do I own?

I just counted, and there are around 231 novels on the bookcases in my room at the moment. I only counted my novels, so not picture books left over from my childhood, or Bibles and devotional books and that kind of thing. Just the novels on my bookcases. I also have at least 50, if not more, on bookcases in the hallway, since there isn’t enough room in my room. So yeah. I own around 300 books.

And that doesn’t include Kindle books either. I have around 300 of them as well.

Now, what was I even talking about? I have no clue.

Ah, right. Rereading books.

So, like I said, I reread books a lot. But one book in particular that I can reread again and again without getting bored? Hmm.

You know what? I don’t know. There are just so many, and yet I do tend to get bored of them all after a while.

Oooh I know. I just thought of one. I’ve actually only read this one three or four times (as opposed to my 10+ times with other books), but if I ever need a book to read and nothing sounds good, then I can go to this one. The book is Kilmeny of the Orchard by L. M. Montgomery. I don’t know what it is about this book. It just speaks to me? Which is funny, because the whole book is about a girl that can’t speak. But I just love.

So. After all that, that is the book that I can reread again and again.

We also learnt that I have a lot of books.

But I think we already knew that.

Leave a Reply

