Day 102: Decisions, Decisions

What is this?! A post not after 10pm?!

How are you more likely to make an important decision — by reasoning through it, or by going with your gut?

I’d probably have to say that I am a mixture of both for this one.

When I realize that I have an important decision to make, the first thing I do is figure out exactly what the decision is and why I have to make it. How did I end up in this position, needing to make this decision?

Then I think about it without looking too deeply at it. Which option seems the better option to me?

If I come to a conclusion that I’m happy with, then great! Decision made. But if I either can’t decide, or I’m not happy with my final choice, I will analyze it more. What are the pros and cons of each option? Why can’t I decide? Why am I unhappy with my gut feeling?

Eventually, I’ll either reach a point where I’ve made a final decision, or I’ve made one for the current situation that I can change later if I need to.

I feel like I need to use a couple of examples for this.

The first example happened over a year ago. I was in a relationship with a guy that I liked, and we had been together for more than a year. Now, looking back at it, I realize that 13 was wayyyy too young for me to start dating.

Anyway, after I had been in this relationship for a year, I started feeling like I should break up with him. But I didn’t want to hurt him, and it wasn’t like anything bad was happening, so I just kept putting it off.

Eventually, I got the point where I decided that I had to decide. Was I going to break up with him, or was I going to just leave things as they were?

I weighed up my options, looked at the pros and cons, and decided that my gut feeling and the logical reasoning were both telling me that I should break up with him. So, after six months of internally analyzing the situation, I broke up with him. In this case, I knew that my gut feeling was right, but I needed reasoning to enforce that.

Another example also occurred last year. I had been attending Girls’ Brigade for nearly ten years, and I had always loved it, but I suddenly didn’t really want to go anymore. I had had a pretty stressful few months, and I had just started taking medication for my heart that made me more tired than usual. I didn’t have the energy or the desire to go anymore. However, I didn’t want to completely call it quits, as this was a huge part of my life, and had been for a decade.

After not attending for a month or so, I knew that I had to come to some kind of decision. My gut was torn, and so I basically decided to stop going for the rest of the year, and decide whether or not it was permanent after I was used to the medication and had more of a handle on my schoolwork.

That was definitely the best decision I could have made. After being on the medication for more than a year, I’m used to the effects of it, and I’m not as tired. I felt like my break was long enough, and I’ve been back at Girls’ Brigade since February. In this case, I had to rely on my gut feeling at the time, and decide later on whether or not I wanted to call it quits.

So. I tend to use a combination of my gut feeling and logical reasoning, although it generally comes down to my gut, with a few bits and pieces of reasoning thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

