Day 101: Press It

Give some love to three blog posts you’ve read and loved in the past week, and tell us why they’re worth reading.

Such fun!

These are in no particular order.

1. Aimee Meester: Why Cinderella Is The Perfect ‘Strong Female Protagonist’
I loved this post for a few reasons. Mainly because I’m going to see Cinderella sometime this week, and I couldn’t be more excited, and this post perfectly describes my excitement. IT LOOKS SO BEAUTIFUL AND ROMANTIC AND I CAN’T WAIT. But I also feel like Aimee made a very good point: strong female protagonists don’t have to be fighters or warriors like Katniss. They don’t have to be sarcastic and sharp witted. They can be sweet and kind and loving. And I think that that is a very good thing to note. I find that I can relate more to characters that aren’t warrior-like, because I am not at all a warrior. I’m more of a hide-under-the-covers-whenever-there-is-a-slightly-strange-sound kind of person.

Also, I agree with Aimee. THAT DRESS.

2. Adriana Gabrielle: A to Z Challenge || Letter I: Imagination
This short and sweet post basically sums up the importance of imagination. I am the kind of person that has a very overactive imagination, so saying that imagination is important is a pretty big boost to my ego.

And Albert Einstein was the man. His quotes can add awesomeness to anything.

3. Liz Brooks: A Writer’s Diet
Even though I have never come anywhere close to finishing a novel and needing to take a break from writing, this post somewhat inspires me. I’m not quite sure why. It just has this empowering aura, if that makes any sense. After reading this, I feel like it’s OK that I’m not working on my novel at the moment, and that it is OK to leave it for the moment and focus on other things. I’m not sure if that is quite the message that she was wanting to get across, and I’m pretty sure I just contradicted myself. But I just get this positive sense from this post. Kind of like it refueled my energy or something.

I don’t know. I’m tired. I need to go to bed.

But those are my three favourite posts of the week!

2 thoughts on “Day 101: Press It

  1. Thanks for sharing! And thanks for your kind words about my post! Yes, you interpreted it correctly–I was using it to convince myself not to feel guilty about taking a much needed break. I’m glad you found it encouraging. 🙂 I was really tired and burnt-out when I wrote it, so it’s helpful to know that it wasn’t too terrible. 🙂 Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

