Day 99: Do-Over

I was going to make myself an instant pudding (basically like jelly but made with milk), when I realized that there was hardly any milk inside, and it is bucketing down outside.

And then I was going to make a hot chocolate to comfort myself, but I clearly forgot that hot chocolates have milk in them too.

So my evening is going fantastically.

Go back to a blog post you always thought could be better, or were unsatisfied with — now, fix it.

*nervously laughs*

I suppose to improve on a post, you have to have done it in the first place, right?

Yes, yes, I know guys. I still have to do those posts. But for now, I need to do this one.

So. A post I could improve on. Umm, all of them?

But there was one that, at the time, I said that it was a fail, and when this prompt came up, that would be the one that I was doing. Now I just have to find it.

Here it is. Day 18. The post titled Free Association.

This is the prompt: Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . . home. . . soil. . . rain. Use those words in the title of your post.

Like last time, I’m not using them in the title. Unlike last time, I am not going to use the words love, grow, and puddle. Because that didn’t really work out too well.

OK. Home, soil, rain.

Family.
Plant.
Water.

Family, plant, and water. I think I can do something with that.

Imagine that we, as people, are plants. Our roots are our families. They’re where we come from, and they begin to shape us. Those with strong roots and strong bonds with their families are more likely to be able to stand strong in the storms than those that don’t have strong roots to support them and keep them steady.

As the plant, or person, grows, they begin to branch out (pun intended). They are less influenced by their roots, and more influenced and changed by the world around them. As they grow, they start to lean on other things for the support. In the case of a plant, this may be a pole or a fence that it grows up against. In the case of a person, it may be friends or jobs or other aspects in life, stable or unstable. The longer that they lean against these things, the more they are influenced and shaped by them.

One of the most important things to grow a plant is water. Water is essential for plants. Without water, they will shrivel up and die. It is the same with people. While yes, we do need water, water can also represent love. Without love in our lives, we become bitter, cold people. This love can come from our families, our roots; or it can trickle down from the other people in our lives. Without love, we are just a dead tree, withered and dried up. We can’t survive for long without love, the same way that plants can’t survive for long without water.

But if we continue to be watered, if we continue to lean against and be supported by stable things, and if we continue to stand firm in our roots, then we will flourish, and grow to become a beautiful tree.

OK… That was interesting. Metaphorical much?

Now to find some kind of food that doesn’t involve going outside in the rain.

Leave a Reply

