Day 92: Prized Possession

And so the catch up begins…

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

As you may already know, I have always been someone that is incredibly attached to everything. EVERYTHING. I hate getting rid of or throwing away anything, even if it is just a piece of paper with a doodle on it.

Someday, that doodle might be the one thing that cures my amnesia.

Or not.

Something that I was incredibly attached to as a kid?

Oooh I know! Panda!

I don’t know Panda’s whole back story, but I’m pretty sure my mum or someone else knitted him for my older brother. My brother then gave him to me when I was born. There are countless photos of me when I was about two with one of Panda’s ears in my mouth. I loved Panda so much. I’m pretty sure I even had a panda birthday cake one year.

So, what became of him? See for yourself.

image

I don’t think the photo really does him justice. He is more tatty than he looks. By the way, he is about one and a half times the size of my hand.

I found him at the foot of my bed, in a plastic bag filled with other toys that I haven’t seen in years. Tigress, my seals, my wombats, my Webkinz toys, you name it. All down there.

When I was about five, I would take all of my soft toys, line them up across my bed in height order, then climb into bed and try to hug them all without breaking the line. There would be basically no room for me, so I would end up falling out of bed almost every night, because I was sleeping right on the edge of the bed.

Ahh, good memories.

I think at one point, I took almost sixty toys to bed with me each night. I had these tiny little cat ones, about twenty of them, plus forty other toys. I’m now down to one, which is a vast improvement, don’t you think?

Is it weird that I’m 16 and I still take a soft toy to bed? Probably. But it helps me to sleep better.

One down. Four to go.

Leave a Reply

