Day 91: The Social Network

I bashed my knee on a cupboard before, and now part of it is swelling up in a rectangular shape.

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

I’m smack dab in the middle for this one.

When it comes to social media, I have a Facebook and an Instagram. I have previously made accounts for Twitter, Pinterest, and Snapchat, but I uninstalled those apps after only a few minutes.

I definitely have Facebook and Instagram because I want to have it. I’m not trying to follow the crowd or be like everyone else or anything like that. It has nothing to do with who is on there or anything.

But I wouldn’t say that I “get” it. Sure, I’ve wasted plenty of time on social media, but I don’t understand why people feel the need to put everything about their lives online. I don’t understand why people say that they are going to die if they can’t check their Facebook or whatever. You will not die, I promise you. The world will go on. I don’t understand peoples’ obsession with social media. I think those people really need to reevaluate their lives and their priorities.

Actually, this reminds me of a song by Rhett and Link. I’ll put the link here. Hehehe link. Get it? Nope? OK. But you should watch the rest of their songs too. They’re really funny.

Anyway. That basically answers the question. I do enjoy being a part of social media, but I’m not obsessed.

ANNOUNCEMENT TIME!

I have two things to talk to you about today.

The first is Easter Camp, which starts tomorrow. I am so excited, because EC honestly saved my life two years ago (loooong story) and I just love it. However, this means that I will not be posting for a few days. Like I said, it starts tomorrow, in the afternoon/evening. I don’t know whether or not I’ll post tomorrow. It depends on if I have time or not. But, if not, this is the last that you will be hearing from me until Monday (or Tuesday if I’m ultra tired, which is highly possible).

But do not fear! I will still be doing the prompts! I will write all of the prompts down tonight, take them with me, and do them on the right days while I’m at camp. I’ll then type them up when I get back, either all at once or over a few days. So you will still get to read all of my ramblings. Lucky you.

Second announcement! I started a new year long challenge today, like this one. Don’t worry, I’m not stopping the writing challenge. This is something different.

So, last night, I was on Instagram (wasn’t I just talking about Instagram?!), when I saw something that my friend from youth group had posted. It was encouraging people to do random acts of kindness today.

I decided to take that one step further, and do a year long challenge. For this challenge, I have to perform at least one random act of kindness each day. It could be something as small as a kind word to someone, or something bigger. But for the next year, I am going to try and be kinder.

As I said before, I started today. I got a couple of post it notes, wrote positive messages on them, and stuck them on the mirror in the main girls’ bathroom at school. I went when no one else was in there, I didn’t sign them, and I even changed my handwriting a little, so that it wasn’t as distinguishable as normal. During lunch, I went to the bathroom at the same time as one of my friends, and her response to them was really positive. She had no idea that I wrote them, and I didn’t tell her. I didn’t tell anyone at school that it was me, and I didn’t hear anyone else comment on it. But I would like to think that I at least made a few people smile.

I’m not sure how this new challenge is going to affect this blog. I’m going to keep a private, handwritten log of what I do each day. I might post about individual days on occasion, if I got a particularly positive reaction to it. Or I might end up posting a weekly update or something. I don’t know. We’ll see what happens.

So those are my two announcements! What do you think about the new challenge? And what should I call it? I feel like it needs a name. Something like The Kindness Challenge or The Kindness Project. I’m not sure.

Also, I challenge all of you to do random acts of kindness. You don’t have to make it a year long thing like I am, but if you see an opportunity to be kind, then take it, and let me know how it goes! I would love to hear about it!

This might be my last post for a while, so I hope you all have a wonderful Easter.

Leave a Reply

