Day 76: Bone of Contention

I am currently read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Instead of the chapters being numbered 1, 2, 3, 4, etc, they are numbered with prime numbers, because the boy in the book has a thing for prime numbers. Problem is, I don’t like prime numbers, and, when I’m reading, I always make sure that I have not read a prime number of chapters. If that is the case, then I read another chapter until I’m not on a prime number. So this book is driving me crazy.

Good book though.

Anyway.

Pick a contentious issue about which you care deeply β€” it could be the same-sex marriage debate, or just a disagreement you’re having with a friend. Write a post defending the opposite position, and then reflect on what it was like to do that.

I actually did something similar to this the other day. We read an article about the dangers of alcohol, and then we had to argue either for or against a statement that we were given. We then swapped papers and had to argue against whatever the other person had said, whether or not we agreed with it. It was very interesting.

I am the kind of person that has very strong opinions about things. And one of them is my very strong dislike for The Hobbit, and my hatred of the fact that New Zealand is basically only known for The Hobbit these days. Oh, and X Factor controversies. But that is another story.

Before I begin arguing about why The Hobbit is a good thing, I would like to explain why it makes me mad. For starters, I hated the book. It was boring. Granted, I didn’t read much of it, and I haven’t seen the movies, but I don’t understand why everyone says it is amazing. Quite frankly, I thought it sucked. And then there is the whole issue with it being a New Zealand thing. A couple of months ago, I found this Instagram account that posted pictures of places around the world. It was called Beautiful Places or something like that. I scrolled through around a few hundred photos, and all of the ones featuring New Zealand were of The Hobbit set.

WE HAVE BEAUTIFUL SCENERY ALL OVER OUR COUNTRY, AND YOU THINK THAT THE ONLY THING THAT IS BEAUTIFUL HERE IS A MOVIE SET?!

And now I have to argue about why The Hobbit is awesome. This could be fun.

*clears throat*

Welcome, one and all, to my talk about the greatness of The Hobbit and its importance to New Zealand.

I would like to begin by saying that The Hobbit is a great work of literature, which is evident by its very positive reviews from millions of readers. Not only is it a great read, but it can’t have been at all easy to write, especially considering that there are made up languages involved. Writing a novel is hard. Writing a best selling novel is near impossible. Writing a best selling novel featuring new languages is past impossible. But Tolkien managed to do it, and not only that, but he did it very well.

The Hobbit movie franchise is a very important part of New Zealand’s culture. It showcases some of the best talent, displays some lovely scenery, and is something that we as Kiwis should be proud of. When someone does something this great and represents your people while doing so, you can’t help but be proud of them. We can take credit for this fantastic movie, and we should, because it is something that shapes us as a nation. Our country may be beautiful, but it is the people that do extraordinary things that makes this place a beautiful place to live.

So take pride in the work of your country, and take pride in knowing that even small countries can do big, amazing things.

Well. That was… Difficult.

I must say, it has changed my perspective slightly. Despite the fact that the novel still sucks, I have more respect for Tolkien.

But, in regards to New Zealand being Middle-earth, my opinion has not changed. In fact, some idiot added fuel to my fire. While researching The Hobbit, I discovered something horrible. This is a direct quote from a website discussing a list of movies that “surprisingly fail the bechdel test”:

“Considering the fact that the entire population of New Zealand is in these movies, it kinda seems statistically impossible.”

NO! NO NO NO NO NO!

If you would like to read the rest of this list, you can find it here.

And now, I shall try and finish an assignment that I should have finished days ago.

2 thoughts on “Day 76: Bone of Contention

  1. aimeemeesterwrites says:

    Ah….I think we disagree here, because I am rather fond of the book, but to each his/her own πŸ™‚ I do hate the movies, though, and don’t like how New Zealand is known only for that, so maybe that makes it a little better. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

