Day 67: Fantasy

I have not had a good weekend. As well as other major problems, I managed to cut my finger on a plastic sippy cup today.

But tomorrow is a new week.

The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .) : a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?

I think it depends on how far you take it.

For me, personally, I don’t remember ever believing in any of them. I knew from a young age that that kind of thing just wasn’t possible. I definitely enjoyed going along with it, and I still do. I’m sixteen, and I still get a stocking from “Santa” each year, and presents left outside my door from the “Easter Bunny”. I’ve run out of teeth to loose, but when I did loose teeth, I would take the Tooth Pixie to bed and wake up with some money in his pocket. He’s a knitted pixie thing that is about 20cm tall, and has a tiny little pocket that perfectly fits teeth and coins.

Random story: one of the last times that I lost a tooth, I was probably around twelve or thirteen, and I lost it at school. I decided to not tell my mum about it and see what happened. I knew that nothing was going to happen, but deep down inside of me, part of me had this sliver of hope that somehow, I would wake up and the Tooth Pixie would have money in him instead of my tooth. But it didn’t.

I could tell so many stories about loosing teeth, but I’ll leave it to just the one.

So, to answer the question, fun and harmless or an outright lie? Like I said before, it depends on how far you take it. In my family, it was more of a joke thing. We open our stockings, and say “Thank you Santa!” while looking at our parents. My mum would always kid around that things were from Santa or the Easter Bunny, but we always knew it was a joke. Last Christmas, my mum even told me how much one of the things in my stocking cost and where she got it, because she knew I wanted more of the same thing but in different colours.

But if the kid takes it seriously, then I think it is a problem. If they get hurt because they find out that their parents have been lying to them, it has been taken too far. There’s a fine line that shouldn’t be crossed.

A lot of things in life are like that. There’s a fine line between fun and games, and hurting someone. That’s something we should all be aware of.

Leave a Reply

