Day 46: Proud

When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

Although I can’t specifically remember anyone saying those exact words, I’m guessing the last time was actually yesterday.

Since I was five, I have been a Girls’ Brigader. For anyone that hasn’t heard of Girls’ Brigade, it is a Christian organization, kind of like Guides or Scouts or Brownies, that kind of thing. I actually took a break from it last year, for a few different reasons, but I’m back in it now.

Yesterday was our area retreat. Basically, at the start of each year, all of the leaders in my area get together to do planning and whatnot, and the pioneers (girls over the age of 13) tag along as well and do their own thing. I went along with a few leaders from my company, and I had a great time hanging with my pioneer friends from other companies.

One of the things that is done at the start of each year is the Youth Rep and Youth Rep Elect are elected. The Youth Rep is someone between the ages of 18-25 from each area that organizes events and that kind of thing. The Rep Elect is someone between the ages of 15-18 that basically does the same thing, but with less responsibility. These elections are normally pretty easy and boring: either the current Rep is voted on again, or, if they choose to stand down, another person puts their name down and they get voted on. It’s normally just one person going for each position, no big deal.

So first we talked about the Youth Rep. The current Youth Rep was happy to stay on, and no one else was old enough and able to do it, so that was easy, we just had to vote yes or no. Then it came time for the Rep Elect. The current Rep Elect was choosing to stand down, so we needed a new one. One girl said that she would like to do it, so they put her name down, and then they asked if anyone else wanted to give it a go.

I’ve never seriously thought about doing something like this before, but, spur of the moment, I decided to put my name down too. I mean, I wasn’t expecting to win or anything, I just thought I’d give it a shot. May as well try, since I might be too busy for that kind of commitment in the future, and it is god experience.

You can probably tell where this is going.

So they had the vote, and I won! I got the position of Youth Rep Elect for my area! I’m pretty stoked about it! It means that I get to go to Nelson in May, to go to a national conference. And it’s free! I’m so excited!

Needless to say, my leaders and my parents were pretty proud of me. I can’t remember if any of them actually said it, but it was implied.

I hope this doesn’t sound like I’m boasting, because I’m not. I’m just so excited!

Leave a Reply

