Day 38: Right to Health

Is access to medical care something that governments should provide, or is it better left to the private sector? Are there drawbacks to your choice?

I have to admit that I didn’t quite understand this question, but after googling ‘private sector’, I think I basically understand what it is asking. But, then again, I don’t really know much about the government’s involvement in that kind of thing, and how that affects things.

As someone who has spent a lot of their childhood in and out of the doctor’s office and the hospital, I understand how important it is that people should have easy access to medical care. I have so many medical issues. I think the longest I’ve gone without going to the doctor was less than a year.

I was recently diagnosed with a heart condition. Within a couple of days of having my horrible fainting episode that we originally thought was caused by low iron, I had been to the doctor, had an ECG at the hospital, and we were told right away what it was. We were quickly able to get more tests done, on me and on my family, and I was quickly given medication and advice on how to control this condition.

I don’t know what role the government played in this. I don’t know whether or not they were involved in it in any way. But I am very glad that we had the easy access to medical care. If we hadn’t, who knows what would’ve happened.

My experiences within the medical world have not necessarily been pleasant, but as far as I’m concerned, I have never had to wait for medical care when I needed it sooner and that kind of thing. I know that in a lot of places and for a lot of people, it is very different, and so I am grateful that I live where I do and I have the doctors that I have.

So, to answer the question. Access to medical care needs to be provided one way or another. I don’t know the pros and cons of government vs private, but I do know that it is important that everyone has access to medical care, and it is somebody’s job to provide it.

Leave a Reply

