Day 19: Apply Yourself

Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you.

Hmm. I have to think about this one.

Ooh I know.

OK, so in October, I went to an English Country Dance with one of my close friends and her family. I wanted to go because I love the film Pride and Prejudice (but I am yet to read the book…), and the dances that they do at the start of the film look like so much fun. And so, naturally, when my friend asked me to go with her, I was beyond excited.

I got a gorgeous dress, and got all dressed up, and that kind of thing. We went to the dance and started off with a few easy dances. Which was good, since I am not very coordinated. Meaning I’m not at all coordinated. But the first few dances were fun and pretty easy to get the hang of, mostly.

And then they started doing a different style of dance. I can’t remember what it is called. Box dance, square dance, something like that. But you have two lines of people, and those lines are then split into squares somehow, with two people from each line forming a square. Or something. I don’t know. Anyway, so I sat out the first one, then I did the next one and kind of got the hang of it.

Until this one particular dance. For starters, I was paired up with a nine year old, who didn’t have a clue what he was doing. Add in the complexity of this dance, and my lack of coordination, and you end up with a complete disaster. We tried, we really did, but neither of us knew what on earth we were doing. So basically, the two of us managed to somehow destroy the entire dance of the group that we were in.

Seriously. We killed it. And not in a good way. We were at the end of the line, and as people began to work their way down the line, as they were supposed to, we slowly but surely managed to stuff everything up and ruin the whole dance.

In my defense, that dance was so hard. I don’t know how anyone managed to do it right.

I sat out of most of the dances after that.

So yeah. That’s the last time (that I can think of) that I tried to learn something that didn’t come easily to me. It was a complete disaster.

Lesson of the day: don’t go dancing with me.

One thought on “Day 19: Apply Yourself

Leave a Reply

