Day 9: 1984

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

If there’s anyone who doesn’t understand the reference, I think I’ll do a bit of background on this first, before getting into it.

1984 is a novel by George Orwell. I haven’t read it, but I read Animal Farm, also by him, a couple of years ago when we studied the Russian Revolution. In the novel 1984, basically part of it is that there’s this room that contains your greatest fear-in a way it’s kind of like those things in Divergent to get into the Dauntless faction. The main character in the novel has the option to get locked in this room with his greatest fear, or betray the person he loves.

Or something. Like I said, I haven’t read it. This is going off of what Wikipedia says.

So I’ve decided to only write about my fears of tangible things, since it could get a bit complicated otherwise.

OK so I’m put in this locked room with my greatest fear. For the sake of this, we’ll make it greatest fears, because just talking about one could get boring.

First thing would probably be some dead things. Like dead birds and dead bugs and that kind of thing. Ugh this is horrible to write about. I hate dead things! They creep me out so much. One time I was cleaning around my rubbish bin and I found a dead fly and I hightailed it out of there like I was on fire.

Which brings me to the next thing that would be in there. Fireworks. I think they are pointless, stupid, harmful, and terrifying. Part of it is probably due to the fact that I have a heart condition and I am supposed to avoid loud sudden noises. And sure, they may look pretty, but they are so dangerous. They just freak me out. What if something goes wrong? What if it explodes in your face? What if it goes the wrong way and kills someone? All very plausible and rational concerns. Also, Guy Fawkes is the most pointless and stupid holiday that has ever existed. But I won’t get into that argument.

Next up, there’d be some needles. I’m starting to panic just thinking about it. I used to be fine with needles. Oh sure, I didn’t like them much. But I was OK with them. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve started to have a fear of them. Last time I had a blood test, I just sat there, clinging to the chair with my eyes shut tight, as if my life depended on it. I don’t mind sewing needles though. Just anything going into the skin. Ughhhhh.

There’d probably be some gore in there too. I’d be running away from all the needles and suddenly I’d find myself staring at a decapitated head or standing on a heart or something. I watch Bones, and I’m slowly getting slightly used to a little bit of gore, but that’s partially because I can convince myself that they are using props. But real gore? No way. I’m OK with a little bit of blood. I can handle that. But not full on gore.

I guess this can sort of count as tangible. There’d definitely be an earthquake going on. I hate earthquakes. They make me hyperventilate. And living in New Zealand, we get quite a few of them.

And finally, there’d probably be a serial killer. Because deep down, we are all terrified of serial killers.

Those are my biggest fears. The tangible ones, at least. Great. Now I’m all freaked out.

Feel free to leave a comment with your greatest fear, so we can all be freaked out together.

Oh, and there’s a couple of exciting things coming in the next few days! I’m doing a special Weekend Extra tomorrow that I’m quite excited to do, and there’ll be a short extra post sometime next week letting you know about something! Yay for exciting things!

Leave a Reply

