Day 4: Quote Me

This is the second post that I’ve written tonight. I’m on a roll.

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

I’m more of a song lyrics person than a quotes person. I have hundreds of songs memorized, because the lyrics have such incredible meaning, or because I’ve heard the song too many times. But this prompt is about quotes, not song lyrics.

There is one quote that I really do like, and it’s from Nelson Mandela. I first found it when I was researching my speech for the Junior Prizegiving (years 7-10) about a year again, when I was in year 10. The quote is as follows:

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.”

I love this. I really do, because I agree with it entirely. When a person is born, they don’t hate anyone. They trust people. They have to trust, because they have no other option. But as they grow up, the world influences them and they begin to hate certain people or groups of people.

I am a Christian, and I believe that we were created by God and in His image (Genesis 1:27). 1 John 4:8 says that “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

So if God is love and we are made in His image, then surely we must be more inclined to love than to hate? Surely it is easier for us to love others than it is for us to hate them because of who they are? So shouldn’t we be trying to love those that we are taught to hate?

I think I’ll leave it at that. But think about it. Love can change the world, the same way Nelson Mandela did.

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.”

Leave a Reply

